Membership for our Reading Is a Lifestyle subscription is now open! p.s. Please login to or create a Shelves account BEFORE you purchase one of our subscription options.
Shelves Bookstore Logo

All the Lights Above Us: Inspired by the Women of D-Day

Across Europe, on what history will call D-Day, five unforgettable women from all walks of life strive to survive the most terrifying night of their lives.

Told in alternating viewpoints, this unforgettable debut is perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Pam Jenoff.

June 6, 1944. Allied forces hit the beaches of Nazi-occupied France. Among the countless lives shattered are those of five spirited women with starkly different lives. As the war reaches its tipping point, each of the women fight for the survival of themselves, their countries, and their way of life during one of the most pivotal days in history.

American expatriate Mildred, better known as Axis Sally, has a thriving career as a Nazi radio propagandist, but her conscience haunts her. Meanwhile, across the English Channel, young medical volunteer Theda is pushed to her limit as shiploads of casualties dock in Portsmouth. Closer to the front, intrepid Flora aids the French resistance, while she seeks out her vanished parents. Iron-willed Emilia has climbed the Gestapo ranks, but she is now bent on betraying them. Finally, dignified Adelaide’s faith is shaken when she is forced to quarter German soldiers.

Now, during the most perilous twenty-four hours of their lives, all five women must summon courage they never knew they had, as they confront the physical dangers of war, alongside treacherous family secrets, heartbreak, and the ability to trust themselves. For these women, their inner strength is their only hope. But is it enough? How far can one person go for the things they believe in?

$26.99

In stock

Product price
Additional options total:
Order total:
Author

M.B. Henry

Format

Hardcover

Publication Date

May 10, 2022

Use our search tools to continue shopping. You know you wanna.

 

Looking for something specific?

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.