Leaves are falling and so has the price of our Reading Is a Lifestyle sweatshirt. Get $18 off today!
Shelves Bookstore Logo

Bewilderness

Set in rural, poverty-stricken North Carolina, this beautiful, gritty, and piercing novel follows two young women–best friends–as they journey through the highs and lows of friendship, love, and addiction, perfect for readers of Julie Buntin’s Marlena (Erika Carter, author of Lucky You).

Irene, a lonely nineteen-year-old in rural North Carolina, works long nights at the local pool hall, serving pitchers and dodging drunks. One evening, her hilarious, magnetic coworker Luce invites her on a joy ride through the mountains to take revenge on a particularly creepy customer. Their adventure not only spells the beginning of a dazzling friendship, it seduces both girls into the mysterious world of pills and the endless hustles needed to fund the next high.

Together, Irene and Luce run nickel-tossing scams at the county fair and trick dealers into trading legit pharms for birth-control pills. Everything is wild and wonderful until Luce finds a boyfriend who wants to help her get clean. Soon the two of them decide to move away and start a new, sober life in Florida–leaving Irene behind.

Told in a riveting dialogue between the girls’ addicted past and their hopes for a better future, Bewilderness is not just a brilliant, funny, heartbreaking novel about opioid abuse, it’s also a moving look at how intense, intimate friendships can shape every young woman’s life.

$26.00

In stock (can be backordered)

Product price
Additional options total:
Order total:
Author

Karen Tucker

Format

Hardcover

Publication Date

June 01, 2021

Use our search tools to continue shopping. You know you wanna.

 

Looking for something specific?

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.