Bewilderness

Set in rural, poverty-stricken North Carolina, this beautiful, gritty, and piercing novel follows two young women–best friends–as they journey through the highs and lows of friendship, love, and addiction, perfect for readers of Julie Buntin’s Marlena (Erika Carter, author of Lucky You).

Irene, a lonely nineteen-year-old in rural North Carolina, works long nights at the local pool hall, serving pitchers and dodging drunks. One evening, her hilarious, magnetic coworker Luce invites her on a joy ride through the mountains to take revenge on a particularly creepy customer. Their adventure not only spells the beginning of a dazzling friendship, it seduces both girls into the mysterious world of pills and the endless hustles needed to fund the next high.

Together, Irene and Luce run nickel-tossing scams at the county fair and trick dealers into trading legit pharms for birth-control pills. Everything is wild and wonderful until Luce finds a boyfriend who wants to help her get clean. Soon the two of them decide to move away and start a new, sober life in Florida–leaving Irene behind.

Told in a riveting dialogue between the girls’ addicted past and their hopes for a better future, Bewilderness is not just a brilliant, funny, heartbreaking novel about opioid abuse, it’s also a moving look at how intense, intimate friendships can shape every young woman’s life.

$26.00

In stock

Product price
Additional options total:
Order total:

DISCLAIMER:  If this is a Pre-Order, please check the publication date below (this is the product’s official release date) BEFORE placing your order to avoid holding up the delivery of the other items in your order. Please review our FAQs page here for more information about how we process and deliver orders.

Author

Karen Tucker

Format

Hardcover

Publication Date

June 01, 2021