Donate to the Great Day of D.E.A.R. Book Drive! All copies of Susan Verde's children's book I Am One: A Book of Action that are donated will be gifted to the scholars at Freedom School Partners this summer.
Shelves Bookstore Logo

Clean Getaway

From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds.

How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:
* Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED.
* Fasten Your Seatbelt: G’ma’s never conventional, so this trip won’t be either.
* Use the Green Book: G’ma’s most treasured possession. It holds, history, memories, and most important, the way home.

What Not to Bring:
* A Cell Phone: Avoid contact with Dad at all costs. Even when G’ma starts acting stranger than usual.

Set against the backdrop of the segregation history of the American South, take a trip with New York Times bestselling Nic Stone and an eleven-year-old boy who is about to discover the world hasn’t always been a welcoming place for kids like him, and things aren’t always what they seem–his G’ma included.

$16.99

In stock

Product price
Additional options total:
Order total:
Author

Nic Stone

Format

Hardcover

Use our search tools to continue shopping. You know you wanna.

 

Looking for something specific?

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.