Leaves are falling and so has the price of our Reading Is a Lifestyle sweatshirt. Get $18 off today!
Shelves Bookstore Logo

When We Make It

The energy. The clarity. The beauty. Elisabet Velasquez brings it all. . . . Her voice is FIRE!–New York Times bestselling author Jacqueline Woodson

An unforgettable debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to make it, touching on themes of mental illness, sexual assault, food insecurity and gentrification, for readers of Nicholasa Mohr and Elizabeth Acevedo.

Sarai is a first-generation Puerto Rican eighth grader who can see with clarity the truth, pain, and beauty of the world both inside and outside her Bushwick apartment. Together with her older sister Estrella, she navigates the strain of family traumas and the systemic pressures of toxic masculinity and housing insecurity in a rapidly gentrifying Brooklyn. Sarai questions the society around her, her Boricua identity, and the life she lives with determination and an open heart, learning to celebrate herself in a way that she has been denied.

When We Make It is a love letter to anyone who was taught to believe that they would not make it. To those who feel their emotions before they can name them. To those who still may not have all the language but they have their story. Velasquez’ debut novel is sure to leave an indelible mark on all who read it.

$19.99

Product price
Additional options total:
Order total:
Author

Elisabet Velasquez

Format

Hardcover

Publication Date

September 21, 2021

Use our search tools to continue shopping. You know you wanna.

 

Looking for something specific?

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.